PHILOSOPHY: 10 things George Costanza taught me

Schermafbeelding 2014-07-17 om 19.20.36

 

It might be a weird confession to make, and I should probably just  keept it to myself, but one of the (fictional) people I look up to in life is definitely George Costanza. His life is my dream!!… Except I wouldn’t want to be fat, bald and living with my parents. Although I’m a far cry away from ever being as awesome as George, there are a couple of things he taught me that I’m looking forward to applying in my own life.

 

1) When you look annoyed all the time people think that you’re busy: I try to practice this at work, which isn’t hard because I’m usually annoyed as soon as I get there.

 

2) The next one is also a good one to apply at work: Never answer your phone if you have voice mail. People don’t call you just because they want to give you something for nothing – they call because they want YOU to do work for THEM. That’s no way to live. Screen all your calls through voice mail. If somebody leaves a voice mail message for you and it sounds like impending work, respond during lunch hour when you know they’re not there – it looks like you’re hardworking and conscientious even though you’re being a devious weasel.

 

3) Do the opposite:

 

4) it’s not a lie if you believe it

 

5) Doing nothing is better than doing something, even if it requires a lot of effort

 

6) It’s good to be bad

 

7) Stay warm in the winter

 

8) It’s okay to pee in the shower

 

9) Build Vocabulary: Read up on some computer magazines and pick out all the jargon and new products. Use the phrases freely when in conversation with bosses. Remember: They don’t have to understand what you say, but you sure sound impressive.

 

10) It’s okay to be a quitter

 

Recommended reads:

 

Have a great day!

Truly yours,

Tina

Schermafbeelding 2014-07-20 om 15.14.58

 

 

