FACE: on coconuts and spf

Schermafbeelding 2014-07-16 om 21.35.18

Lately, with my upcoming tropical trip in mind, I’m going a little coconut crazy. I spend my days thinking ’bout sipping coconut water out of a fresh coconut when sitting in the sand, getting a massage, whilst not getting a sun burn because I just rubbed myself with coconut oil. Wait, what? coconut oil? Yes, coconut oil!

While most people prefer to rub themselves with high spf sunscreen, filled with ingredients they can’t even pronounce, I like to opt for a natural solution. Because, those ingredients you can’t pronounce are most likely toxic or endocrine disrupting chemicals. Endocrine, what? you ask… Endocrine disruptors are chemicals that can interfere with the hormone system, causing all kinds of diseases you’d like to stay far away from (think cancers and the like). So basically we’re all just rubbing ourselves with cancer causing lotion to prevent ourselves from…getting (skin) cancer. This might make sense to you (if so: feel free to continue what you’re doing, I’m not telling you how to live your life) but it sure doesn’t make sense to me. Therefor I just rub myself with coconut oil, which has an sfp 8 and although that might not seem like much I personally believe that this will be enough to not get me a sun burn. For the skin cancer part of things, I am almost certain that the whole spf thing is a hoax, I believe that rubbing chemicals on your skin and blocking all vitamin D is more likely to cause skin cancer then staying in the sun without sun block.

For those who like to amp it up a bit, Wellness Mama has a great all natural sunscreen recipe using coconut oil.

Recommended  Reads:

Have a sunny holiday!

yours truly,

Tina

Schermafbeelding 2014-07-20 om 15.14.58

