FACE: 10 bathroom essentials

Schermafbeelding 2014-07-16 om 21.17.55What do apple cider vinegar, tea tree oil and toilet paper have in common one might ask (although I doubt anyone would ever really ask that)? Well, in my opinion they are all bathroom staples.

Here’s a list of 10 things I always have in my bathroom

1) Apple cider vinegar, why? because it’s awesome. Make sure you buy the organic kind that still has the ‘mother’ in it though. It can be used as a conditioner for your hair, it can be used as a toner for your face, it’s supposed to be good for removing stains from teeth, it can help getting rid of candida,…and the list goes on. Personally I try (with the emphasis on try) to drink a glass of water with a spoon of the vinegar each morning because it just does the body all kinds of good.

2) Organic cold pressed coconut oil is something I never go without, I even have a tiny little jar in my purse. The Wellness Mama has an article named 101 uses for coconut oil so I think that almost says it all. As I mentioned in my previous post it can be used as a sunscreen. Apart from that I use it as a moisturizer, as a face cleanser or I mix it with tea tree oil to brush my teeth or do some oil pulling (more on that in a later post).

3) Lavender oil is well known for it’s calming effect so I like to put some drops of it on my pillowcase for some marvelous times in dream land. Lavender does more than just relax you though, it helps cure cold sores, cuts and chapped lips, it relieves seasonal allergies, it’s good for dermatitis and eczema, relieves the pain and helps to heal a sunburn and it’s even known to help with dandruff and stop a nosebleed.

4) Tea tree oil is another staple in my bathroom cabinet (and in my purse). Not only does it make a good natural toothpaste in combination with coconut oil, because of it’s anti fungal, anti septic and anti viral qualities it can be used to treat acne, eczema, yeast infections, athlete’s foot, head lice, sinus infections and all sorts of other things. (While writing this post I realize that I might have to do a separate post on each of these products for a more elaborate and detailed description of the miracles they perform)

5) Citronella Oil is not only a good insect repeller ( not to be confused with a man repeller) it can also be used as a hairspray (good for oily scalp, frizziness, detangling and softening the hair). Because of it’s inflammatory properties it’s great for stomach pain and muscle pain and works as a detoxifier.

6) Organic cold pressed castor oil which I mainly use to cleanse my face can also be used as a cuticle oil, to relief itching, cure mouth sores, condition your hair and apparently it helps to get things moving when you feel constipated.

7) Turmeric might not immediately sound like something you’d keep in your bathroom but it serves more purposes than just making curries. I absolutely love turmeric, as well in the bathroom as in the kitchen. But since this post is about bathroom essentials we will stick to it’s beauty uses for now. Turmeric can be used to treat acne, can reduce fine lines and wrinkles and other signs of aging. It’s used to treat stretch marks, reduce skin pigmentation, can be used to prevent hair loss and helps with skin conditions such as eczema.

8) I got hooked on Aloe Vera after a trip to Curacao where we visited an Aloe Vera plantation. I use the juice of my own aloe vera plant because it’s a good way to make sure nothing else is added (and it’s cheap). I turn to it to treat (sun)burns, sooth the pain of a mosquito bite and banish bruises. Again, google uses for aloe vera and there’s tons of websites with lists of all the things Aloe Vera is good for.

9) Grapefruit oil is great for your lymphatic system, helps with cellulite, boosts your energy levels (good for jet lags) and improves your mood, helps with menstrual cramps, relieves headaches and again, the list goes on.

10) I could probably add some other essential oils to the list but one thing we sure need in the bathroom is toilet paper so lets just stick with that.

recommended books:

Go get yourself some oils!

Truly yours,

Tina

 

Productions mentioned:

Schermafbeelding 2014-07-20 om 15.54.14

Schermafbeelding 2014-07-20 om 15.14.58

 

