Philosophy: the music that made me; vol 2: Girl Power

Well the 90’s were all about girl power…the term was first used by Bikini Kill but didn’t enter the mainstream untill the mid 90’s , when the Spice Girls made it popular. Remember: this was also the time when Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Xena the Warrior Princess were one of the most viewed TV series. I Personally wasn’t really a fan of the typical girl bands, I made an exception for Destiny’s Child, TLC, En Vogue and Salt N Pepa…but I don’t consider them to be typical girl bands…

Anyways, angry and confident women all over the place (well often not as confident as angry but hey…)..it was lovely! I remember the first CD I ever bought: Women of the 90’s: ready to go…this CD says it all! let’s see what was on there

1.Natalie Imbruglia – Torn (4:07) -> one of the most popular 90’s haicuts?

2.Anouk – Nobody’s Wife (3:28)

3.Texas – Say What You Want (3:55) -> this texas song wasn’t really a favorite of mine, but how good is blacked eyed boy?

4.Amanda Marshall – Beautiful Goodbye (4:45) -> knew and probably still know this song by heart, one of my favorite 90s songs!

5.Skunk Anansie – Hedonism (Just Because You Feel Good) (3:27) -> I was really into skunk anansie as a kid

6.Republica – Ready to Go (4:11)

7.Garbage – Only Happen When It Rains (3:58) -> loved Garbage

8.Letters To Cleo – Co-pilot (3:43)

9.Meredith Brooks – Bitch (4:01) -> not too keen on this one

10.Sarah McLachlanBuilding a Mystery (4:08) ->loved singing along with this song

11.Lisa Loeb & Nine Stories – Stay (I Missed You) (3:04)

12.Joan Osborne – One of Us (4:18) -> hated this one

13.Alannah Myles – Black Velvet (4:50) -> how good is this song! …Every word of every song that he sang was for you…In a flash he was gone, it happened so soon, what could you do?

14.Leah Andreone – It’s Allright It’s Ok (4:26)

15.4 Non Blondes – What’s Up (4:58)

16.k’s Choice – Not an Addict (4:51) -> a popular song at the time but…meh..k’s choice was never my thing

17.Tracy Bonham – Mother Mother (3:04) -> awesome song!

18.Bell Book en Candle – Rescue Me (3:26) -> again, awesome!

19.Tori Amos – Professional Widow (2:19) -> save the best for last? well no, there’s a lot of great songs on this CD, I wouldn’t be able to choose,but this one is one of the best

on the RnB/hiphop/rap-ish end of the spectrum there was: Kelis ( who got really popular after the caught out there song),  Mariah, Toni Braxton, Whitney houston (The phone rings..then you look at me…why’d  you turn and look at me…You said it was one  of your friends….from over on  54th street…so why did 213  show up on your caller  ID?..), Lil Kim, Neneh Cherry (No moneyman can win my lu-uhuv, It’s sweetness that I’m thinking of….We always hang in a Buffalo Stance…We do the dive every time we dance),..and the list goes on…the 90’s were pretty awesome!

 

Kind Regards,

Tina

 

*picture found using google

 

 

 



